Ten outstanding policemen and women named


A proof that the Philippines never runs out of exemplary policemen and women, the Metrobank Foundation, in partnership with the Rotary Club of New Manila East and PSBank, names this year’s awardees for the Search for the Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS).  

 Coming from various provinces across the country, the awardees consist of four commissioned officers and six non-commissioned officers. They are Police Superintendent Leo Francisco of Taguig City; Police Superintendent Florencio Ortilla of Davao City; Police Superintendent Noel Ponsaran of Davao City; Police Superintendent Sidney Villaflor of San Jose City, Nueva Ecija; Police Officer 3 Edilberto Euraoba III of Sibulan, Negros Oriental; Police Officer 3 Shella Mae Sangrines of Iloilo City; Police Officer 3 Zoraida Aripin of Zamboanga City;  Police Officer 3 Joey Castillon of Tobias Fornier, Antique; Senior Police Officer 2 Hermie Raymundo of Lingayen, Pangasinan; and Police Officer 3 Roel Paclibar of Tacurong City, Sultan Kudarat.

 “These outstanding policemen and women are a testament of our police force’s dedication to their sworn duty and professionalism towards performing their responsibilities,” said Metrobank Foundation president Aniceto “Chito” M. Sobrepeña. “It is through the Search for COPS,” he continued, “that we give honor to the exemplary members of the PNP who have worked together with their communities in crime solution and prevention.”

 From a pool of almost 100 nominees, the awardees have gone through a rigorous screening process which involved documents review and a panel interview that was conducted by a board of judges composed of key personalities in the different sectors of the society. The Final Board of Judges was co-chaired by Secretary Leila de Lima of the Department of Justice, who was then Chair of the Commission on Human Rights, and Associate Justice Mariano del Castillo of the Supreme Court, while its members included Dr. Jose Ma. Arsenio Mariano, president of the University of Asia and the Pacific; Atty. Eusebio Tan, president of the Management Association of the Philippines; Atty. Jose Tale, chairman of the Couples for Christ; Paul Schafer, resident representative of the Hanns Seidel Foundation; and Joel Reyes Zobel, a broadcast journalist from Super Radyo DZBB of GMA Network. 

Each awardee will receive a cash prize worth P250,000 and a trophy courtesy of the Metrobank Foundation.

Now on its eighth year, the Search for COPS is an annual program undertaken by the Metrobank Foundation, Rotary Club of New Manila East and PSBank, in cooperation with the Philippine National Police. With the aim to recognize the shared responsibility between the police and the community, the recognition is given to gallant men and women of the police force who are able to work with the community in preventing and solving crime.

* * * * *

The Metrobank Foundation, the corporate social responsibility arm of the Metrobank Group, was established by its chairman Dr. George S.K. Ty in 1979. With the theme “Excel. Engage. Empower.” the Foundation has promoted a culture of excellence among Filipinos through its various programs, such as the Search for Outstanding Teachers (SOT), the Metrobank Art and Design Excellence (MADE), the Search for The Outstanding Philippine Soldiers (TOPS), Country’s Outstanding Policemen in Service (COPS), the Metrobank Math Challenge (MMC), and College Scholarship Program (CSP). The Foundation also engages its partners and awardees in different activities geared towards giving back to the society. Through these initiatives, the Metrobank Foundation empowers its awardees and partners to become better citizens of the community. As part of its contributions to help improve health care services in the country, Dr. Ty donated a two-hectare lot along Diosdado Macapagal Avenue, costing about P1.2 billion, that would be the site of a modern tertiary medical center complex. This new hospital, once completed, will have a 1,000-bed capacity, making it one of the biggest hospitals in the country owned by a not-for-profit organization.