Water for Upland Communities

Aligned with The Coca-Cola Company’s goal to safely return to nature and to communities an amount of water equal to what is used in the Company’s finished beverages and their production, Coca-Cola Foundation Philippines launched the Agos Ram Pump Project in partnership with Earth Day Network Philippines, Inc.  (EDNPI) and the Alternative Indigenous Development Foundation, Inc.  (AIDFI) in November 2011.

According to the Philippines Millennium Development Goals (MDG) Progress Report in 2010, one in every five persons in impoverished areas in the country still does not have access to safe water. Most of these areas are situated in remote small islands, upland communities, and war-torn villages.

Kids from Brgy. Colonsabac, Matanao, Davao del Sur enjoys the water flowing from one of the tap stands installed in their community.

The Agos Ram Pump Project brings water to upland communities using the hydraulic ram pump which pushes the water up from the water source without the use of electricity or fossil fuel. The ram pump was designed 200 years ago but many installations have not been successful due to design and maintenance issues. The system was revived and perfected by AIDFI, recipient of the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 2011. The AIDFI ram pumps use inexpensive and locally-available options for moving parts that need regular replacement, and highlight the importance of regular maintenance of the water system.

The goal of the project is to install ram pump systems in 100 poor communities, a commitment made during the centennial celebration of Coca-Cola in the Philippines in 2012. The ram pumps provide a reliable and accessible source of water to the communities, thereby improving sanitation and health of family members. The ram pump systems also allow community members to use valuable time and effort previously spent on fetching water from distant sources, on caring for the family and livelihood activities (for the women), and study and play (for the children).

Aside from providing water to communities, the Agos Ram Pump Project through EDNPI also conducts activities such as community preparation and organization of community water association, and solid waste management, which becomes a source of livelihood for community members. The project also includes training of at least two ram pump technicians from the community who will be responsible in maintaining the usability of the ram pumps.

To date, the Agos Ram Pump Project has already reached out to over 31,000 direct beneficiaries from 41 communities nationwide. Below is the complete list of Agos sites:


1. Bokong Waterfalls, Patay, Sagada, Mountain Province

2. Brgy. Suyo, Sagada, Mountain Province

3. Brgy. Uli, Dasol, Pangasinan

4. Brgy. Binaritan, Morong, Bataan

5. Brgy. Bono-Bono, Bataraza, Palawan

6. Brgy. Iraan, Rizal, Palawan

7. Brgy. Banawang, Bagac, Bataan

8. Brgy. Mascap, Rodriguez, Rizal (Sitio Lower Macopoy)

9. Brgy. Sta. Maria, Gonzaga, Cagayan Valley


1. Brgy. Montilla, Moises Padilla, Negros Occidental

2. Brgy. Banderahan, Valencia, Bohol

3. Brgy. Kalo, San Jose, Negros Oriental

4. Brgy. Libtong Gamay, Naval, Biliran

5. Brgy. Captain Ramon, Silay City, Negros Occidental

6. Brgy. Pasanan, Inabanga, Bohol

7. Brgy. Pandanon, Don Salvador Benedicto, Negros Occidental

8. Brgy. Cambuyo, Garcia–Hernandez, Bohol

9. Brgy. Larrazabal, Naval, Biliran

10. Brgy. Malalay, Ronda, Cebu

11. Brgy. Kanghalo, Dumanjug, Cebu

12. Brgy. Maquiling, Sagay City, Negros Occidental

13. Brgy. Buenavista, Murcia, Negros Occidental

14. Brgy. Prosperidad, San Carlos City, Negros Occidental

15. Brgy. Camingawan, Kabankalan City, Negros Occidental

16. Brgy. Guimbala-on, Silay City, Negros Occidental

17. Brgy. Obat, Sta. Catalina, Negros Oriental

18. Brgy. Canmanico-Anas, Valencia, Bohol

19. Brgy. Katipunan, Sagbayan, Bohol

20. Brgy. Hagnaya, Carmen, Cebu

21. Brgy. Yubo, La Carlota City, Negros Occidental (Sitio Bais)

22. Brgy. Binalay, Gen. McArthur, Eastern Samar (Sitio Lubang)


1. Brgy. Upper Dado, Alamada, North Cotabato

2. Brgy. Limulan, Kalamansig, Sultan Kudarat

3. Brgy. San Jose, General Santos City

4. Brgy. Rogongon, Iligan City

5. Brgy. Lake Lahit, Lake Sebu, South Cotabato

6. Brgy. Tagasaka, Hinatuan, Surigao del Sur

7. Brgy. Calumangi, Dumingag, Zamboanga del Sur

8. Brgy. Colonsabac, Matanao, Davao del Sur

9. Brgy. Baganihan, Marilog District, Davao City

10. Brgy. San Miguel,Maramag, Bukidnon (Purok 8)